Thursday, 19 January 2017

The human skeleton

It is composed of around 300 bones at birth – this total decreases to 206 bones by adulthood after some bones have fused together. The bone mass in the skeleton reaches maximum density around age 20. The human skeleton can be divided into the axial skeleton and the appendicular skeleton. skeletal system definition. The framework of the body, consisting of bones and other connective tissues, which protects and supports the body tissues and internal organs. Voluntary muscles are also called skeletal muscles as they are attached to bones, by rule, so as to move the bone hence the body. ... The skeletal system performs vital functions— support, movement, protection, blood cell production, calcium storage and endocrine regulation — that enable us to survive.

The main bones of the human skeleton are:
The Skull - Cranium, Mandible and Maxilla.
Shoulder girdle - clavicle and scapula.
Arm - humerus, radius and ulna.
Hand - Carpals, Metacarpals and Phalanges.
Chest - Sternum and Ribs.

Information from:
Image from:

No comments:

Post a Comment


I have really enjoyed doing anatomy and physiology in the form of blogs, I feel it has given me something to do peacefully at home following...